A Mom, Wife, Sister, Daughter & Woman…Overcoming Domestic Abuse With God

“It’s important to hide God’s Word in your heart even when you feel like you don’t need it because one day, when it feels as if the sun set while it was still day, you’ll find strength and encouragement.”  Joel Osteen

I felt like the sun set during the daytime when the judge handed my daughter over to our abuser for 7 days at a time.  The breath left my body and I had to immediately sit down to keep from falling.  How is it possible for someone to hand a child over in such a cavalier fashion without knowing the facts?

I have gone to the Lord in prayer daily, often many times in a day and used the Word I had hidden in my heart for comfort.  There were times that I sobbed until I thought my heart would stop beating.  The grief and anguish at being unable to protect her has renewed my fight time and time again to get her back.

Psalm 142:3
“When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then you knew my path.” 

I faithfully believe that I am being led where I am to go.  In the 90 days that I have been free I can look back and see how the events I went through, while excruciating and time-consuming in the moment, brought me to the place I am today.  A place of hope and joy.  When I feel uncertainties and “his” voice nagging in the background – I simply take it to God.  He is my rock when all others have failed me.

“Remember, God always causes us to come out better. If it’s raining here, the sun is always shining somewhere else. The sun will always shine again in your life. God always wants us to come to Him in the day of trouble. And when you call upon Him, He will show you great and mighty things, and He will surely rescue you.”  Joel Osteen

Leave a Reply

