A Mom, Wife, Sister, Daughter & Woman…Overcoming Domestic Abuse With God

Hold On

“So hold on to me tight
Hold on, I promise it’ll be alright
Cause we are stronger here together
Then we could ever be alone
Just hold on to me
Don’t you ever let me go
Hold on to me, it’s gonna be alright
Hold on to me tonight”  Michael Buble

Holding on is all I’ve been doing lately.  My abuser has turned his rage on my baby girl and she is now suffering in ways I could never have imagined.  It makes me physically ill to see her go through this time of shock, confusion and abuse.  Absolutely sick.

I am finally coming to a place of acceptance that he never loved me and that his actions are his problems…not mine.  It is an incredibly painful reality to realize he never cared about me but almost unfathomable the lengths he has gone to remind me of that reality.  Locking us out of the house, fighting for our daughter, showing off the new girlfriend…all signs screaming disorder.  Yet at the same time tearing my heart out of my chest and stomping on it in the street.

So I will continue to hold on and fight for what I know is right.  Because fighting for my girl is something I would do to my very last breath.

Leave a Reply

