A Mom, Wife, Sister, Daughter & Woman…Overcoming Domestic Abuse With God

Sued

I feel like a shadow boxer – always ducking and looking over my shoulder for the next smack upside the head.  It came today, in the usual manner, sucking the strength out of my body. 

I ran home at lunch today to grab a paper I had forgotten on my desk.  From the driveway, I could see a note stuck to the front door and assumed UPS had tried to deliver something.  Then I remembered that I had gotten everything I had recently ordered.  My steps slowed as that realization washed over me and by the time I reached the front step my brain was screaming “this won’t be good”.  It wasn’t.  Dear hubby is being served a “civil paper” by the local sheriff’s office.  Lots of stuff raced through my mind but nothing concrete as a reason for this type of service.  I immediately call dear hubby to ask if he’s in any legal trouble I should know about and he seemed eerily calm.  “Must be somebody suing me for money”, was his answer.  Ummm, no, it’s not.  He and I were sued 6 months ago by a collection agency and the sheriff’s office had NOTHING to do with any of that paperwork.  I ended the conversation with a “well, let me know” to which he said “bye” and hung up on me.

My suspicions by this time were sufficiently aroused that I called the sheriff’s office myself.  The kind lady who answered the phone said that all type’s of paperwork were served in that way and it could be anything from:

  • Warrants of search and/or siezure.
  • Summonses to appear in court.
  • Orders of eviction.
  • Orders of surrender of property.
  • Orders of quarantine.
  • Orders to vacate.
  • Orders to appear.
  •  

    Wonder if I will ever find out what’s really going on.

    Leave a Reply

